My Joan Jett Of Arc

Together we probed mysteries of the dark

Though you said true love was for losers and saps

(Oh God how I loved you, my Joan Jett of Arc.)

 

You moaned like a hooker those nights in the park

As I tried to snare you with all of love’s traps.

Together we probed mysteries of the dark.

 

I was a way station, no more than a lark,

Though I searched your eyes for a trace of perhaps.

(Oh God how I loved you, my Joan Jett of Arc.)

 

I sought to engender romance’s first spark

In the wake of unfettered zippers and snaps.

Together we probed mysteries of the dark

 

Our orbit of something completed its arc;

I sang Ave Maria, you whistled Taps.

(Oh God how I loved you, my Joan Jett of Arc.)

 

One morning the truth hit—cold, brutal and stark;

You’d left unannounced, leaving me to collapse.

Together we probed mysteries of the dark

(Oh God how I loved you, my Joan Jett of Arc.)

 

(Posted for Isadora Gruye’s challenge at Imaginary Garden With Real Toads; this poem probably does not meet the letter of our assignment, and plays a bit fast and loose with the spirit as well.  The poem borrows its title from a Clem Snide tune.)

11 thoughts on “My Joan Jett Of Arc

  1. and, exhale……I am not sure why but when reading this poem I was subconsciously holding my breath all the while, as if there was another shoe to drop or something else waiting behind your verses. I like your choice of narrator, the significant other lost in the flame of their Joan Jett of Arc. In fact, the phrasing “Joan Jett of Arc” I found incredibly telling of the narrator (and their ideal of the character). Bravo Kortas. While this piece reads (or rather, excuse me, could read) as simple, you do a great work of jam packing words us “regular” folk would use with meaning just by choosing the right arrangement. In example:

    I sought to engender romance’s first spark

    In the wake of unfettered zippers and snaps.

    Together we probed mysteries of the dark

    Well Done and viva la

  2. I am such a fan of the villanelle, but they are hell to write – and you have laid this out as sweetly as honey on toast. Each stanza is a marvel on its own. The repeated lines give such a punch, and then the final double whammy at the end left this reader feeling more than satisfied. Your characterization is spot-on. But I would never expect anything less.

  3. Well, I guess you know I have to love anything that nods to both my Joans! I’ll wager she didn’t know her own strenth, but obviously you haven’t forgotten her.

    Thanks for your comment on my Marlene Dietrich poem. I love baseball and so I was delighted by your hanging curveball in my wheelhouse! Joan Jett is a big Orioles fan, by the way. For me it’s my maddeningly inconsistent Detroit Tigers!

  4. First time here, thanks to Real Toads! Hey, fast and loose is my style anyway. Your Joans… one a survivor in a man’s world, one a leader destined to be martyred… in a man’s world. And tying these in with your love, and all in a villanelle that would melt in my mouth… gorgeous. That “trace of perhaps” is intriguing, too. Loved it, loved it. Peace, Amy
    http://sharplittlepencil.com/2012/09/14/space-cadet-for-my-fellow-bloggrrrls/

  5. the clem snide reference won me over before i even read the first line. and then i read it. and then the next. and so on, and while i am no great wielder or fanatic of form verse, this revolved and spun like stars and planets and other probed mysteries.
    i can hear the rowdy guitar in the distance.

  6. Loved Sharp Little Pencil’s analogy: Your Joans… one a survivor in a man’s world, one a leader destined to be martyred… in a man’s world. This was very interesting and well done and in a villanelle, no less.

Leave a Reply

